The Solution To Racism

My heart is heavy (pardon the cliche) as I see the news about all the protests against the tragic events with a few police officers and civilians. If you want to know how I feel about the police, see my last post, “Cry For The Fallen Brave”; but this post is something that bothers me about the protests.

Mostly, from what I have seen on the news, these protests have been somewhat peaceful, and that’s a good thing. The events that triggered them are undoubtedly tragic, regardless of how they actually happened.

Not since the civil rights conflicts in the ’60’s has our country been so torn on what seems to be a racial issue. I suggest that it’s not really a race issue. There are certain influential people who thrive on every opportunity to make a problem into a racial problem. I have an idea who some of these people may be, but I won’t name them. But if a white police officer shoots or uses forceful restraint on a black person, regardless of the reason, it stirs trouble. Oddly (or maybe not so), if a black officer takes the same action toward a white (or any race, for that matter) person, it gets no attention.

There is a powerful movement to nurture racism in America today.

If the tragic events that triggered these protests really are flagrant racism by white police officers, who selectively profile and harass black citizens more than other races, then that is a serious problem that needs to be addressed by the judicial system. I’m stumped to think of any time in history when protests influenced the US judicial system.

But, here’s my main point: these protests are racist. They hold up their fists, which was the symbol for “Black Power” in the ’60’s, or could just simply represent fighting (either way, representing violence directed at white people). And they carry signs saying: “Black Lives Matter”.

Of course black lives matter. But isn’t it racist to single out one race and declare that? If there were a protest where they carried signs saying “White Lives Matter”, what do you think would be the reaction? Really, don’t ALL LIVES MATTER?

So, the title to this post may have been misleading. Other than the changing of the hearts of all people, I don’t believe there is a real solution to racism; however, I firmly believe that responding to racism (or perceived racism) with racism only creates more hatred.

I heard someone say once about black people hating whites being “reverse racism“. That’s ridiculous. Racism, hatred, prejudice, discrimination, all the same no matter who points at who.

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

Leave a Reply

