Cry For The Fallen Brave

Since Vietnam, including the war on terrorism the US is currently fighting, there have been children who were given weapons and taught to kill. Our soldiers have the unfortunate duty of killing these children, or be killed by them. It’s a terrible thing. The children are not the enemy; nor are the soldiers bad. The evil ones are those who give the guns and bombs to the children and teach them to kill.

My heart is broken as I watch the news lately. It seems nearly every day there are violent acts targeting and killing police officers. The alleged motive is revenge for some terrible actions (or mistakes) of a few.

Let’s talk briefly about what it means to be a law enforcement officer. They are part of a small minority group, along with soldiers and firefighters, who daily put their lives on the line to protect everyone else’s lives. Does that sound stressful? Every time they put on their uniform, especially recently, they are wearing a target. They are trying to maintain peace and order in a culture given to anarchy. They are authority in a society that hates authority. Does it sound stressful now? Each day, when they leave home, they don’t know if they will ever see their family again, or if some angry thug will shoot them on the street because they’re wearing a uniform. How about now? When they are called to the scene of a crime in progress, for example domestic violence, the officers are frequently injured trying to control the situation. If they have to restrain someone, or use any kind of force, the officer has to undergo an internal investigation to prove it was necessary. They carry guns and other weapons to protect themselves and others, but every time they use them, there has to be an investigation. Okay, I think you might understand that a police officer’s job is one of the most stressful jobs in existence.

Now unfortunately, police officers are humans, just like the rest of us. And maybe some of us with less stressful jobs and lives have at times gotten stressed-out and perhaps over-reacted to a situation. If I were stressed and carrying a gun, and someone approached me pointing a gun at me, (first of all, I’m not going to take the time to find out if it’s a real gun) I’m going to point my gun at them. If I tell the person to drop the weapon, and they don’t immediately do it, I have to assume they’re going to shoot me, so I shoot them.

Sadly, our police are soldiers in a war that recruits children. Kids carry weapons. They know how to kill. And cops are their targets. The children are not the enemy. The cops are not the bad guys. The real evil are those who put the guns in the hands of these babies and fills their young minds with poisonous hate.

It’s not a race issue. It’s not an economic or political issue. The issue is the perpetuation of hatred.

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

Leave a Reply

