Obsession Costs Too Much

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Revisionist History.”

In 2002, I was obsessed with finishing writing my first book, MORE THAN SONGS. I had labored over it with research, writing, re-writing, learning, un-learning, discouragement, and encouragement. I was unemployed. That of course put financial pressure on my home and marriage. I was in deep depression. But I was writing like a fiend.

In fact, I was neglecting my wife, I was so obsessed with completing the book.

I finished the book. Unfortunately, at the expense of my marriage.

Now… if things had gone differently…

I would have realized that the book was already written; it just required some editing and tweaking, and not become so obsessed about it. I could have devoted time and energy to job-hunting, which would have likely relieved a lot of my stress and discouragement. Finding another job would have eased the financial strain on our home.

And most importantly, spend time showing my wife that she was the most important person in my life. I would still be married. IF is such a BIG word, isn’t it?

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

3 thoughts on “Obsession Costs Too Much”

Leave a Reply

