Making A Gem

The difference between a professional photographer and an amateur photographer is the professional takes hundreds of shots to get maybe a few good, and perhaps even one great picture. The amateur misses many photo opportunities because they only shoot when they think it will be a masterpiece.

So, what does that have to do with writing? Maybe you already guessed.

I follow some blogs (not as often as I should) of some amazing writers. While sometimes the content of their individual posts may not be amazing; I am awed by their consistent quantity. In a few cases, these bloggers are writing several posts every day. I don’t know how they do it.

I am a writer. I often write in my head. I do not often enough sit down to my laptop and literally write what I have been composing in my brain. This makes me a frustrated and ineffective writer. My inactivity on this blog reflects this. Every now and then, I’ll hit a hot streak, and I’ll declare that I will be more consistent. If you have followed my blog for very long, you know it doesn’t usually work that way.

One of my hindrances is a desire to make every post in this blog a gem, a meaningful work of art, an outstanding example of my craft. Yeah. I have worked multiple days on writing profound (at least I thought so) and time-sensitive posts, carefully phrasing and checking grammar; and then, thinking because I never closed the window, when the post was completed, I could click publish and it would publish to my blog. If any of you have ever tried this, you may know what happened. It disappeared, and did not publish.

If I had any sense about this, I would just simply write in this blog regularly. Don’t worry about every post being a gem. Take a lesson from the professional photographers.

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

Leave a Reply

