Everyone In This Room Is Now Dumber

Silver Screen

Principal: Mr. Madison, what you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.

In the movie, BILLY MADISON, starring Adam Sandler, he is faced with a final question in a big showdown test to prove that he is worthy to graduate high school. Essentially, the question is to discuss the industrial revolution. Since Billy has no clue how to answer, he fumbles around for an extended period, tells a story about a little rabbit. When he has finished, the school principal, who is moderating the test, responds with the above quote. I think it is the funniest line in the movie; and judging by the links on Google tied to this quote, it must be one of the most memorable lines in film history.

So, here’s my thing…

When I feel compelled to participate in a conversation, though I actually have no knowledge of the topic and nothing truly worthwhile to add, I have been known at times to bu*****t my way through. I am apparently skilled at spreading the manure. There have been times when people in the conversation believed my nonsense. I know this to be true because I have even heard some of them passing on the misinformation to someone else, as if it were fact.

This actually has filled me with two emotions. One: guilt for convincing them to believe it. Two: gratitude that they apparently wanted credit for their knowledge, and didn’t attribute the pile of dung to me. Sometimes, I am a virtual fountain of misinformation. I have so reveled in my imaginative hoohah, that it has been described as drinking water from a fire hose.

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

Leave a Reply

