When I Say Merry Christmas

When I say “Merry Christmas“, and I do that a lot, I am not pushing my religious belief that its the time of celebrating the birth of Jesus, God With Us, although I do believe and celebrate that personally.

When I say “Merry Christmas“, I am wishing you a joyous and peaceful time. What an offense!

When I say “Merry Christmas“, some may be offended because they don’t celebrate the birth of the Saviour for all humanity, like I do. Their religious beliefs may be different, and they may celebrate a different holiday in this season. Some do not celebrate any holidays, not even their own birthdays.

And then there are many who celebrate Christmas for a different reason… a time of family and gift-giving, and much merry-making.

There is a reason Christmas is a national holiday, and not the other versions of holy days at this time of the year. It is celebrated in one form or another by the vast majority of the world, let alone the USA.

When I say “Merry Christmas“, why would that well-wishing greeting offend anyone? Some say the politically correct way anymore is to say: “Happy Holidays”. But wouldn’t that offend those who do not celebrate holidays, whether this season nor any other? I should certainly say so!

I do not wish to offend anyone, but I do wish ALL A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

Leave a Reply

