2013

As the year winds down, I tend to reflect on the goals I had set for the year, and evaluate how I did.

1. Lose weight
Success! Last year in November, I weighed 353 pounds. It was the heaviest I had ever been. I felt terrible! Now I weigh 280 lbs. I have not dieted. I have worked hard.

2. Get a job and hang on to it
Success! In early March, through a local temp company I got a good job at a new company in Aurora. I have worked hard, and hope to be hired in full-time.

3. Get my first book, MORE THAN SONGS published
Unsuccessful! I need a bank account in order to set up a kickstarter.com page to raise the money for my portion of investment to publish the book with West Bow Publishing, a division of Thomas Nelson Publishers.

4. Buy a trustworthy vehicle
Unsuccessful! I cannot get a car loan, and I feel like I’m working just to pay my bills. Its good that my bills are getting paid, but saving for a car is going slower than a snail.

5. Write a novel of 50,000 words or more in the 30 days of November
Unsuccessful (as for word count). I did write about 16,000 words within the month, and will continue on this, my first novel. Through NaNoWriMo, the challenge was to discipline myself to write every day (didn’t work), and learn to write without editing (I struggled, but could not seem to stop myself).

6. Establish my online presence as two different writers
Somewhat successful! I have developed this blog, inconsistent involvement in social media (facebook, twitter), created an ezine. Not doing much for developing Matt Ice.

If I had other goals for 2013, I don’t remember what they were.
In December, I will list my goals for 2014 in this blog at some point. Even if no one reads or comments on them, at least I will have committed them to public examination, and directly writing them out.

Published by

mikemattice

I am 56 and live in Ravenna, OH USA. I am a writer . I am a father and grandfather. I have been a Christian since 1982. I am a musician and singer. I teach guitar (when I can get students). I am an avid reader and Bible student. Under the name Mike Mattice, I write Christian nonfiction. Also, I write web content for a web developer, articles and blogs on various topics.

Leave a Reply

